Seat Belt Laws - Permit Practice Test - Florida

Seat Belt Law - DMV Practice Test and Answers

Florida Seat Belt Laws


This Permit Practice addresses Florida Seat Belt Laws and Child Restraint Laws, which covers car seat requirements. To prepare for this practice test you should have reviewed Seat Belt Law Videos and Tutorials.

Below are questions about Seat Belt Laws in Florida in the form of multiple choice just like on the Florida Permit Test. As you answer each question you will learn the correct answer so you can learn by taking the test.

1. You’re driving a late model car with passengers in the backseat, do they have to wear seatbelts?

Incorrect: Please try again.

Correct: Yes, Florida law requires passengers under the age of 18 wear a seat belt at all times whether they’re in the front or back seat.


2. Once a child turns age 10 is it safe to let them sit in the front seat with an airbag?

Incorrect: Please try again.

Correct: No, all children under 13 years old should sit in the back because an airbag can severely injure them.


3. When you get in a car to drive what is the proper way to wear a seat belt?

Incorrect: Please try again.

Correct: Wear your lap belt across your hips and wear your shoulder belt across your chest. No matter how old you are you must always wear a seat belt while driving. Wear both the lap belt and the shoulder belt.


4. If an officer pulls you over and your 16-year-old brother isn’t wearing his seat belt, will he get a ticket?

Incorrect: Please try again.

Correct: No, the driver will be charged with a seat belt violation if any passenger under 18 is not wearing a seat belt or proper child car seat (age 5 and under.)


5. Your mom asks you to take your 4-year-old cousin back to your aunt’s house, is it okay to put him in the back seat with a regular seat belt?

Incorrect: Please try again.

Correct: No, all 4 and 5-year old must use a car seat or booster seat according to the Florida Child Restraint Law. Age 3 and younger must be in a car seat.


6. Do only infants need to be in a car seat on the back seat?

Incorrect: Please try again.

Correct: No, all infants and young children under age 4 must be in a car seat. Once a child is age 4 or 5 they must be in a child safety seat or booster seat.

Take the Next Practice Test - Speed Limits