Learn about Florida Seat Belt Laws in Florida.
The Florida Seat Belt Law dictates who is required to wear a seat belt and what the fines are for not wearing a seat belt. The rules vary based on your age and if you are in the front seat or the back seat. In addition the law spells out how children ages 4 and 5, and children under 4 must be restrained in the Child Restraint Law.
Once you have watched the Videos on Seat Belt Laws and read the tutorials we recommend you take our Practice Test on Seat Belt Laws to determine if you understand the topic.
The Florida Seat Belt Law specifies that everyone in a vehicle under 18 must always wear a seatbelt. The Seat Belt Law also lists requirements for children 4 and 5 years old and children under 4.
Florida’s seat belt law states if under 18 and not wearing a seat belt in a car, law enforcement can issue a traffic ticket to the driver.
The Florida Seat Belt law specifies that children ages 4 and 5 must be in a car seat or booster seat. Children under 4 must be in a car seat. There is a $60 fine for violations of the Child Restraint Law.
The Florida Seat Belt Law specifies that anyone under age 18 must always wear a seat belt.
Here are the details of the seat belt law:
Note: There are specific requirements for children 5 and younger in another video.
Be Aware: Children 13 and younger should NOT SIT in a front seat as the airbags could injure them in an accident.
A Primary Violation
Not wearing a seat belt in Florida is considered a primary violation, which means law enforcement can pull you over if you're not wearing a seatbelt.
The fine for a seatbelt violation in Florida is $30 for an adult and $60 for a child 5 and younger.
Florida’s Seat Belt Law states if anyone in a vehicle under age 18 is not wearing a seat belt and you're stopped by law enforcement - the Driver will receive the traffic ticket.
Since 2009 not wearing a seat belt is a primary violation. That means that law enforcement can pull you over just for not wearing a seatbelt.
Florida has a Child Restraint Law that applies to children ages 4 and 5 years old and children under 4 years old.
Child Restraint Law Details:
The fine for a child not in a car seat or booster seat is $60.