Florida Learner Permit Help
Getting your Florida learners permit and drivers license is not difficult if you know which courses you need to complete, tests to pass, and the ID requirements. Below is step by step explanation. You can download a Florida DMV Drivers Handbook here.
Frequently Asked Questions
Table of Contents
- Who Needs to Take the DATA Course
- Steps to Taking the DATA Course
- DATA Course Test
- DATA Certificate
- Permit Test
- Studying for the Permit Test
- What Happens When You Pass The Permit Test
- What to Bring to DMV to Get a Learners Permit
- Can you Lose your Learner Permit or License for Missing School in Florida
If you are 18 or older read - How to Get your Florida Drivers License
Getting Your Florida Learners Permit
Step by Step
This is a summary of the steps to getting your Florida Learners Permit (more details below.)
- Complete the 4-hour DATA Course (aka, TLSAE, Traffic Law Substance Abuse Education)
- Pass the Permit Test (aka, DMV Exam, DMV Test)
- Go to DMV Office (make an appointment to save time) for eye and vision test
- Don't forget to bring: Parent Consent Form, ID documents
Who needs to take the DATA course?
How old must you be to take the DATA course?
You can take the DATA course starting at age 14. Teens and adults must take the DATA course to get a learners permit or drivers license for the first time.
What are the steps to take a DATA course?
- Start with Registration - name, address, birthdate, phone, email, and create a username and password.
- Next you pay with any major credit card or debit card and know that we issue refunds for all unfinished courses.
- Answer ten (10) security questions about yourself (student should always do this not a parent). The Florida DMV requires that we implement this step to make sure it is the registered student taking the course.
- Login when you are ready to start and know that you can logout anytime and come back later (24/7).
- The DATA course is divided into 7 modules that must be completed in order.
- Each module has a required minimum time you must spend on the materials - you will se a timer on the screen.
- Once you complete the required time in a module you can take a quiz for that module.
- When you pass the quiz for a module you can move onto the next module.
- When you complete all the modules you can take the final DATA test.
How many times can I take the test at the end of the DATA Course?
You can take the DATA course test as many times as you need with no additional charge. If you pay attention to the course the test is not difficult.
What happens when I finish the DATA course and pass the test?
Your completion information is automatically transmitted to the Florida DMV. When you go to a local DMV office they will lookup your information based on your name or other personal information.
Will I receive a certificate when I complete the DATA course?
Paper Certificates are No Longer required by the Florida DMV. Therefore we do not mail certificates.
What is the Permit Test / DMV Exam?
The Permit Test is the written exam you must take to get your Florida learners permit or first drivers license. The test questions come directly from the Florida DMV and cover road rules - the rules and regulations of driving on Florida roads and highways. The test also covers: Road signs, traffic signals, and pavement markings you may encounter in Florida.
Who can take the Online Permit Test / DMV Exam?
You must be at least 14 1/2 years old and under 18 years old to take the Permit Test Online. We recommend you take the Permit Test after the DATA Course but you can take it before or after the DATA course. If you are age 18 or older, you can only take the Permit Test (DMV Exam) at a DMV office.
How does the Online Permit Test / DMV Exam work?
The Online Permit test is a timed test of 50 questions. Once you begin you are given 60 minutes to complete the test and you must get 40 correct to Pass the Permit Test. You must complete the Permit Test in one session - you cannot log out or pause the test. Before you start be prepared to complete the entire test.
What type of questions are on the Permit Test?
The Online Permit Test questions are multiple choice.
How should I study for the Permit Test?
To prepare for the permit test we recommend you start with our free Pass The Permit Test videos, guides, and practice tests. Our Permit Test videos will give you a strong understanding of the many concepts on the test. Next you should read the Florida Drivers Handbook. Another option is to take our online Permit Study Guide Online Course. It was created by a former Florida DMV Examiner. It teaches you what you need to know and includes practice tests.
How many times can I take the Online Permit Test / DMV Exam?
You can take the Online Permit Test three (3) times. If you do not pass in your three attempts you must take the permit test at a DMV office.
What happens when I pass the Permit Test?
Your completion information is automatically transmitted to the DMV.
Going to the DMV to Get Your Learner Permit
Once you complete the DATA course, pass the Permit Test and turn 15 years old you can go to the DMV to get your Learners Permit.
As a reminder, here are the requirements to get your Learners Permit:
- Must be 15 years old or older
- Complete the DATA course
- Pass the Permit Test (DMV Exam)
- Provide necessary ID documents
- Provide two documents with proof of residency such as a utility bill or car insurance
- Under 18 must be accompanied by a parent or provide a parental consent form
- At DMV office must pass a vision and hearing test
When you go to a DMV office to get your Florida Learners Permit you will need to bring two “original” (not copies) forms of identification (ID.) The preferred documents are a certified birth certificate and original social security card but a passport or a government issued document with your name on it are accepted. Here is a list of the documents accepted as Primary Identification for US Citizens.
Primary ID Documents for Florida Drivers License
- Certified US Birth Certificate
- Valid unexpired Passport or Passport Card
- Consular Report of Birth Abroad
- Certificate of Naturalization
- Certificate of Citizenship
Secondary ID Documents
To get your Florida Learner Permit or Drivers License you must provide two forms of ID. When you go to get your Drivers License the DMV will need your social security number and it will be electronically validated. A Social Security Card is the preferred form of secondary ID. Here are the documents accepted - you must provide one:
- Social Security Card
- W-2 form
- Paycheck containing your complete social security number
- 1099 form (pre-printed by the issuer)
- Military ID
You will also need to prove that you are a Florida resident (residential address) by bringing two (2) documents with a Florida address with your name or a parent’s name such as an electric or utility bill, phone bill, water bill, car insurance document, or a home owners document. There are many acceptable documents listed in the drivers handbook here are the most common:
- Deed, mortgage, monthly mortgage statement, mortgage payment booklet, or residential rental/lease agreement
- Florida Voter Registration card
- Florida Vehicle Registration or Title
- Florida Vessel Registration or Title - if you live on a boat/houseboat
- Homeowners or Car Insurance Policy
- Utility Bill
If under age 18, a parent or legal guardian must come with you to sign a Consent Form. If a parent is not able to come with you then you must bring a Notarized Parent Consent for a Driver Application of a Minor that your parent or legal guardian has filled out and had notarized.
You can download the Parental Consent Form
Learner Permit Courses & Tests
Florida Permit Test Facts
- Test Covers Rules and Regulations of Driving and Road Signs
- Questions are multiple choice
- Test is timed - 60 minutes allowed
- You must be under 18 to take test online
- You can take the test online 3 times only