DUI Rules and Penalties - Florida Permit Test
Florida has a Zero Tolerance Law and Implied Consent Law.
Drinking and driving is illegal and comes with severe penalties in Florida. The laws are even more strict for drivers under 21 under the Zero Tolerance Law. Review the videos and guides on DUI to learn how to be safe driver.
Review the guides below on DUI laws and watch the videos. Then we recommend you take the practice test on DUI and Florida Zero Tolerance Laws to determine if you understand the topic.
If you drink alcohol - even one drink - your chances of being in an accident go up dramatically. No one can drink alcohol and drive safely, regardless of how long you have been driving or how well you drive.
Consequences of a DUI in Florida
People who drink and drive risk the following consequences:
- Big fines
- Extremely high insurance costs
- Loss of driver's license
- Jail time
A DUI conviction will stay on your record for up to 75 Years.
When you are convicted of Drinking and Driving (DUI) Florida law requires that you purchase additional insurance including Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) insurance and increased Property Damage Liability (PDL).
Your insurance coverage is required to be at least $100,000 BIL for injuries to one person and $300,000 BIL for injuries to two or more people. In addition the increased Property Damage Liability (PDL) coverage must be $50,000.
Increased insurance costs are in effect for three years if convicted of a DUI in Florida.
The additional coverage can easily double your auto insurance costs.
The combination of alcohol and drugs - both prescription drugs and illegal drugs - can multiply the effects of alcohol.
If you are taking prescription drugs read the label or ask your doctor if you plan to drink alcohol. The combination of drugs and alcohol can be dangerous even if you are not driving.
You can be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if you are driving and under the influence of:
- Prescription Drugs
- Model Glue
Zero Tolerance in Florida means drivers under 21 with a blood alcohol level of .02 will lose their license for 6 months.
Drivers under 21 with a blood alcohol level of .05 or higher will be required to attend a substance abuse course.
Implied Consent Law
By signing your drivers license you agree to take a blood test, urine test or breath test if a law enforcement has reasonable cause to think you are under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
Drinking effects your judgment and your vision. Judgment is the first thing effected by alcohol.
Alcohol negatively effects all the skills needed to drive safely.
- Judgment - is effected first
- Reaction Time - slows down (which increases reaction time)
- Ability to concentrate
Alcohol Reaches Your Brain in Minutes
Alcohol is absorbed into the lining of the stomach and then passes directly into the bloodstream and reaches your brain within minutes after consumption. Alcohol also slows your reflexes.
- Slows your Reflexes
- Slows your Reaction Time
- Reduces your Ability to See Clearly
- Makes you Less Alert
When you drink alcohol it affects judging distance, speed, and movement of other vehicles. You will also have trouble controlling your vehicle.
Here are a few simple rules to avoid drinking and driving.
If you plan on drinking then designate a driver before you go out.
If you are the designated driver then do not drink even a single drink. Recognize that you are responsible for getting everyone home safely.
If you are impaired and don’t have a designated driver then call a friend, family member, or use a car service (taxi, Uber, Lyft.)
Help a Friend
If you know someone about to drive impaired then take away their keys and help them get home safely.