Florida Learners Permit Course
help help contact us contact us

learners permit Bookmark HighSchoolDriver.com

Got a Traffic Ticket in Florida?

$27.39 Take Traffic School here
No points on your license
No insurance increase*

Signup Now

This is the BDI Course
Take it online on your time
Come and go (log on and off)


Other Important Stuff
Student Login

Already Signed Up? Enter your username and password and login.

Username
Password
VISA mastercard discovery amex

Contribute to High School Driver
Florida DMV Offices
Florida Drivers Association
Florida Dept of Education
DMV Learner License FAQ

High Schools
Wheels
The List
Drivers Education
High School Driving
Drivers Ed Classes

State Approved
Trusted Drivers

Take your required Florida D.A.T.A (Drug Alcohol Traffic Awareness) course online for $29.95 .

Gradient

Get Your Florida Learner's Permit

Take Your Learners Permit (D.A.T.A) Course all online on your schedule and Take the DMV Test Online

Take the DATA test as many times as you need to pass
Do it all at once or log in and out (come and go) on your schedule
We will automatically transmit your results to the Florida DMV so you can go get your license.
Get your certificate faster via email
Our courses are approved by the State of Florida in all 67 Florida counties.

When you finish your DATA course you can elect to take the DMV Test online for $24.95

In a RUSH? Get your certificate via email in 2 hours!

Learners Permit: Florida Drug Alcohol Course $29.95



Sign up Now for Internet course

Are you getting your Florida Learner Permit? This course is for you.

DATA = Drug Alcohol Traffic Awareness. All first time drivers in Florida are required to take the DATA course Take this DATA course and you can take your DMV exam online for $24.95 and save hours at your DMV office.

The D.A.T.A. course will teach you:
How Alcohol and Drugs affect your driving
Laws and Responsibilities
Safe Driving Techniques

Note: The D.A.T.A. course is the same as the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education.

$29.95 is your total cost - your learner permit certificate will be mailed to you upon request. At the end of your course you can elect to get it faster via email for $9.95 or select a faster shipment method. Our D.A.T.A course is appoved in all 67 Florida counties

Sign up Now for Internet course

Pass the DMV Test The First Time

Students taking our Learners Permit (D.A.T.A) course NOW have the option of taking our "Pass the First Time" program for $14.95 . This program includes sample questions, practice tests, and your questions answered by a former DMV examiner.

Note that the DMV Test is now back online as of July 6, 2011. So you can prepare for your test
and then take it online



The DMV Test consists of 40 questions - 20 questions on Road Signs and 20 on Road Rules. You must get 15 right in each section.

LEARNER'S PERMIT AND OPERATOR'S LICENSE INFORMATION

The DMV requires that you complete the following steps before receiving your Florida Operator's License.

Step 1: Get your Learner's Permit

How to get your Learner's Permit:

  1. Before going to the DMV (you must be 14 years or older to take the D.A.T.A course):
    • Complete the Florida Drivers Association online D.A.T.A. (Drug Alcohol Traffic Awareness) course (click here to sign up now). The DMV requires that each person spend at least four hours taking this course. You can log in and out of the online course as many times as you want.
    • Complete the DMV Exam - you must be 15 years old to take the DMV exam. Complete our "Pass the First Time" program and you can be confident you will pass the DMV test.

  2. What to bring to the DMV (you must be 15 years or older):
    • Your Certificate of Completion with the D.A.T.A. Course.
    • One of the following forms of identification: Original Birth Certificate, valid U.S. passport, or Florida State ID card,
    • Your original Social Security Card
    • If under 18, a natural parent (or legal guardian) must sign a consent form in front of the examiner or a notary public. Click here for the Parent Consent form for a Driver Application of a Minor

  3. What you will do at the DMV:
    • Take the 40 question DMV Test if you have not already taken it online.
    • Get your picture taken
    • Take a vision test (to pass, you must have 20/40 or better vision in each and both eyes, with or without corrective lenses)
    • Take a hearing test
    • Give a thumb print
    • Receive your Learner's License!

top top

Step 2: Using your Learner's Permit

  1. Auto Insurance. Parents need to call their auto insurance agent to check what adjustments need to be made to include a teen driver in their policy.

  2. Never Drive Alone There must be an adult age 21 years or older with a valid driver's license in the front passenger seat whenever a Learner Permit driver is driving.

  3. Hour Restrictions. During the first three (3) months, drive only during daylight hours. After three (3) months, you can drive until 10:00 p.m.

  4. One Year Practice Driving. Drive with your Learner's Permit for one (1) year for at least 50 hours including ten (10) hours at night.

  5. No Traffic Convictions. During the Learner Permit year, you can not receive any traffic convictions to be eligible for your Operator's License. NOTE: You may avoid conviction by attending Florida Drivers Association 4 Hour Basic Driver Improvement course if you receive a ticket or in an accident (Complete a Florida Traffic School Course).

top top

Step 3: Getting your Operator's License

  1. You must be 16 years or older and have had a Learner's Permit for at least one (1) year with no traffic convictions and 50 hours of driving experience including ten (10) hours at night.

  2. Call ahead and schedule an appointment at the DMV

  3. What to bring to the DMV:

    • A Florida Learner's Permit or a license from another jurisdiction
    • Parent or guardian must sign a Parent Consent for Driver Application of a Minor in front of the DMV examiner or have a notary witness (click here to print the form). This form states that you have at least 50 hours of driving experience, of which 10 hours are at night.
    • Valid vehicle registration must be provided on the vehicle for the driving test
    • Study the Florida Driver's Handbook so you can be prepared to take the driving test and perform certain driving maneuvers.
  4. Once you pass the Driving Skills Test:
    Congratulations but beware! Traffic crashes are the number one killer of teens. It's important to follow the rules below and all traffic rules especially driving within speed limits and following road sign rules.

top top

Don't get your License suspended or get points!

Important facts:

Age Restrictions
If you are 16 years old:

  • You can only drive between 6:00 a.m. and 11:00 p.m. except to and from work or when accompanied by licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and occupies the front passenger seat

If you are 17 years old:

  • You can only drive between 5:00 a.m. and 1:00 a.m. except to and from work or when accompanied by licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and occupies the front passenger seat

top top

Points and License Suspension

There are a number of infractions that can cause you to lose or restrict your driving privileges. The following are of particular interest to teen drivers.

  • If you receive a traffic conviction while you have a Learner's Permit, the one year period you are required to hold your Learner's License will be extended for one year from the date of the infraction.
  • If you receive 6 points on your driving record within a 12 month period, your driving privileges are automatically restricted to business purposes only for 12 months or until you are 18, whichever happens first. If you receive additional points during this restricted period, the restriction is extended 90 days for each additional point.
  • If you have a blood alcohol level of .02% or more (applies to those under age 21), an administrative suspension of six months will result.
  • If you are truant in your school attendance, your driving privilege is suspended until you provide proof you have attended school for 30 consecutive days.
  • If you are convicted of possession of tobacco products before the age of 18, your driving privileges will be suspended.

Driving Violations and Points

If you get a ticket or are in an accident, keep points off your driver's license by attending the Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) 4-Hour Course (click here to sign up).


License Points

If you choose to pay the civil penalty or are adjudicated guilty by a judge, your driver record will be assessed as follows:


Moving Violations (includes driving during restricted hours) 3 points
Speeding less than 15 mph over the speed limit 3 points
Improper Lane Change 3 points
Littering 3 points
Violation of child restraint laws 3 points
Speeding more than 15 mph over the speed limit 4 points
Passing stopped school bus 4 points
Moving violation (non-speeding) resulting in an crash 4 points
Reckless driving (criminal traffic violation) 4 points
Speeding resulting in a crash 6 points
Leaving scene of crash with damage 6 points

License Suspension

Driver license suspension will result as follows:


License suspended for 30 days 12 points in 12 months
License suspended for 90 days 18 points in 18 months
License suspended for one (1) year 24 points in 36 months

Zero Tolerance for DUI

Florida Drivers under the age of 21 with a blood alcohol level of .02% or more will have their license immediately suspended for six months. This administrative action is for a first offense; a second offense will result in a one year suspension. Refusal to submit to testing (first offense) results in a suspension of twelve months; eighteen months on a second offense.

Most states have the same blood alcholo level limit of .02%, but some states such as California have a limit of .01%. The bottom line is don't get behind the wheel if you have any alcohol in your system.

top top

Florida Traffic School
Traffic School Partner