Florida Car Insurance - Florida Permit Test
In Florida you are required to have Car Insurance
Florida law requires that car owners have car insurance to cover the costs of an accident.
If you own or are in charge of operating a vehicle in Florida you must have both Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PDL) insurance coverage of at least $10,000 each.
Review the guides below about Florida Car Insurance Laws and watch the videos. Then we recommend you take the practice test on Car Insurance to determine if you understand the topic.
Car Insurance Topics
Car Insurance Videos
The Florida No Fault Insurance Law requires you to have both Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PDL) insurance.
PIP - Personal Injury Protection
Covers the cost of your injuries regardless of who is at fault for the accident.
PDL - Property Damage Liability
Pays for damages to other peoples property that you caused.
Each type of protection (PIP and PDL) must be a minimum of $10,000 of coverage.
To register a vehicle in Florida you must provide proof of both PIP and PDL insurance.
You must always have proof of your insurance in your vehicle and provide it to law enforcement if asked.
Florida Financial Responsibility Law
If any of the following occur the Florida Financial Responsibility Law requires the addition of “Bodily Injury Liability” and increased PDL (Property Damage Liability) coverage.
- You’re in a crash where you’re at fault and an injury has occurred.
- Your license is suspended for too many points.
- You are convicted of a DUI.
This additional car insurance coverage is in addition to the Florida No-Fault PIP and PDL insurance coverage.
In Florida you cannot have a car without insurance. You are required to maintain insurance at all times.
If you don’t have proof of insurance and are stopped by law enforcement you will have to go to court and prove you had insurance coverage at the time you were stopped.
If you did not have insurance or cannot prove it then a judge can convict you of driving without insurance and your drivers license and license plate will be suspended.
Fines for No Car Insurance
To get your drivers license and license plate reinstated you will have to get insurance and pay a reinstatement fee ranging from $150 to $500.