Car Accidents - Florida Permit Test
Learn What to Do in a Car Accident
In 2016 there were over 395,000 accidents in Florida, which is over 1,000 per day. As a driver in Florida you are required to know what to do in a car accident.
Florida had more than 50,000 accidents in 2016 that were attributed to distracted driving. Since 2013 the number of accidents because of distracted driving has increased 26 percent. The primary message you must understand is when driving you must focus on driving.
Review the guides below on what to do in a car accident and watch the videos. Then we recommend you take the practice test on Car Accidents to determine if you understand the topic.
Car Accident Topics
Car Accident Videos
If you get in a car accident in Florida you are required by law to give information and offer aid to anyone that needs help.
What to Do in a Car Accident
If there are injuries or property damage you should:
- Stop and Call 911
- Turn on hazard lights
- If someone is hurt get help as fast as possible
- In minor accidents move cars if they are blocking the flow of traffic
- Exchange information
Law enforcement will create a report if the accident involves a DUI, property damage, injuries or death.
If you are in a small accident with no injuries and minor property damage you should move your vehicle if it is blocking traffic.
If you get into a car accident in Florida and leave the scene your license can be revoked. Leaving the scene of an accident may be considered Hit and Run.
Penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident:
The penalties are as follows and all of these situations include losing your drivers license for at least 3 years.
- If death is involved it is a first degree felony with a minimum 4 year prison term.
- If there is serious bodily injury it is a second degree felony.
- If there is an injury it is a third degree felony.
If you come upon the scene of an accident you should:
- Call 911.
- Pull as far off the road as you can for your own safety.
- Give first aid if someone is hurt.
- Don't move someone if they have a neck or back injury.
If you hit an unattended vehicle you are required to do the following:
- Make every effort to locate the owner.
- Notify law enforcement.
- Leave a note with your contact information if can't locate the owner.
If you leave a note include:
- Your name.
- Contact information.
- License plate number.
If you hit an unattended vehicle and leave without contacting law enforcement and not leaving a note is may be considered Hit and Run.