Drivers Education No Longer Optional
In years past taking a drivers ed class was optional. You may have taken a drivers ed class at your high school to make it easier to get your learners permit or save money on your auto insurance. But today many states require that teens take a drver education class before you can apply for a learners permit or get your first drivers license. Below High School Driver covers the requirements for each state.
Florida - DATA Course
in Florida you must complete a Drug Alcohol Traffic Awareness course (4 hour class) before you can apply for your learners permit.
Florida Learner Permit Facts
You must be 15 to get a Florida Learners Permit
You must complete the DATA course to get your learner permit
You can take the DATA course at age 14 1/2. The course can be completed online or in a classroom
Georiga - Joshuas Law
In Georgia, effective January 1, 2007, all 16 year olds must be in compliance with Joshuas Law in order to apply for drivers license after having their learners permit for 12 months. Here are details
Joshuas Law - Georgia Driver Education
While you have your learners permit in Georgia, you must complete 30 hours of driver education which can completed online. Once you complete this online course, and you have had your Georgia learners permit for 12 months, you take a Certificate of Completion for an approved joshuas law course to get your full drivers license.
Georgia Learner Permit Facts
Teen Drivers can get a Georgia Learners Permit at age 15
You must hold your Learners Permit for 12 months and be 16 to get your Georgia Drivers License
You must complete a 30 Hour Driver Education course - Joshuas Law - to get your Georgia Drivers license
Drive Safe, Get There, Have Fun